Dan Evans Student Rep. Scholarship


Dan was born on April 5, 1985 in Decatur, IL. He attended Mt. Zion High School where he graduated third in his class in 2003. He then attended Illinois Wesleyan University where he graduated in 2007 with a BS in Biology with a pre-med focus. Dan then continued his education at Illinois State University, graduating cum laude in 2010 with an RN and BS in Nursing. He earned an MS of Nursing in Nurse Anesthesia from Millikin University and the Decatur Memorial Hospital Nurse Anesthesia Program in 2015.

He was very passionate about advancing the nurse anesthesia profession, especially in regards to CRNAs working within the full scope of their practice. In the spirit of education, Dan made sure to teach anyone who was willing to learn.

Dan worked as a CRNA at HSHS St. John's Hospital in Springfield, IL. He also served as a Region Director on the board of Illinois Association of Nurse Anesthetists and was an active member of the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists. Prior to CRNA school, Dan worked at OSF St Francis in Peoria from 2010-2013 as a Registered Nurse in the Surgical Intensive Care Unit.

He is survived by his loving wife Erin Evans (Lohrstorfer) and his beloved son Everett.


One scholarship will be given annually in the amount designated by the IANA board to one of the appointed student representatives from an anesthesia program in Illinois. To qualify, students must meet the eligibility requirements and criteria stated below and submit a completed application to the Illinois Association of Nurse Anesthetists (IANA).


To provide financial assistance to nurse anesthesia students based on merit.


Eligibility Requirements:

Awards are available to all students who meet the following eligibility requirements:
1.The applicant must currently be enrolled in one of the Illinois nurse anesthesia programs and in good academic/clinical standing.
2.The applicant must be an appointed student representative from their nurse anesthesia program
3.The applicant plans to use the award to fund their nurse anesthesia education



Selection of scholarship award recipients is based on the following:
1.Academic achievement - cumulative GPA
2.Involvement in organizations and school activities
3.Involvement in community activities outside of school
4.The intention to practice as a nurse anesthetist within the state of Illinois
5.The intention to become a member who is actively involved (committee participation, lobby, run for a board position, etc.) in the Illinois Association of Nurse Anesthesiology (IANA) for a minimum period of two years, beginning within one year of completion of the nurse anesthesia program



Completed application must be received by IANA no later than December 1st of the prior year for the award is sought.

The award is typically presented to the recipient in January of the year the award is granted.